Stay-at-home mom

The robin eggs on the front porch hatched Thursday, and this afternoon I went out with the camera to see if I could get any pictures of the hatchlings. Momma Bird stayed on her nest, keeping a wary eye on me.

IMG_3656

Staying home and sitting on the chicks is how Momma Bird spends her days. Watching her made me think of a Shel Silverstein poem that used to make me giggle: Mrs. McTwitter the baby-sitter / I think she’s a little bit crazy / She thinks a baby-sitter’s supposed / To sit upon the baby.

This is one of two Shel Silverstein poems I memorized in fourth grade – the other of which doesn’t have anything to do with anything, but I like it anyway: My beard grows to my toes. / I never wears no clothes. / I wraps my hair / around my bare / and down the road I goes.

After a while, Papa Bird came home with some wriggly things for the babies.

“Honey, I’m home!”

IMG_3664

That’s Papa Bird – he brings home the bacon. The leggy, wriggly bacon.

IMG_3665

Right about then, Papa Bird decided I was getting a little too close with my camera, and he flew off. Not Momma Bird, though. She stood her ground. She was gonna keep glaring at me until I backed off.

IMG_3684

Papa Bird perched in a nearby tree where he could hop up and down and chirp at me, threateningly.

IMG_3690

Beween you and me, he wasn’t very intimidating. But don’t tell him that.

Momma Bird, though – she wasn’t going anywhere. She was just going to keep glaring for as long as it took to make me go away.

IMG_3717

“Don’t come one step closer, human, or I’ll glare at you so hard you’ll burst into flame. I mean it. Not one…more…step.”

IMG_3718

My eyebrows were starting to singe, so I backed off and went inside. No momma should have to spend her Mother’s Day staring down a giant with a Canon.

Maybe for Mother’s Day I’ll get a telephoto lens, so I can get some bird family photos without giving Papa Bird a heart attack.

Or I’d settle for dinner on the grill and a bouquet of construction-paper flowers.

3 Responses to “Stay-at-home mom”


  1. 2 Emily May 16, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Robins! I have some very similar pictures of a robin on my porch last summer. Just be careful you don’t get a mommy that attacks you if you get too close. It’s not fun.

  2. 3 SPURWING PLOVER January 2, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Look how those robins have adapted to civilization nesting on the pourch Gose shows what these birds can do


Leave a Reply

Archives

Tweet, tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My photostream

More Photos

