Inspired.

With a semester and a half of my Big Back-to-School Adventure completed and the fall semester course schedule posted, I’ve been thinking more lately about what I want out of my college education — and, by extension, my future. Although I’ve been profoundly inspired by all Maggie‘s posts about her life list, I hadn’t been motivated to come up with a life list of my own. But this process of becoming happier and more at peace with myself (and let’s face it, the fact that I’m facing a milestone birthday this summer) has made me begin thinking of what fun things I want to plan to include in my life, and finding more intentional ways to accomplish these things.

So in no particular order, here are the first ten items on my life list, which I’ll be adding to for a while:

  1. Take my family camping.
  2. Learn tai chi.
  3. Earn my Bachelor’s degree.
  4. Get paid money for something I write.
  5. Sew an item of clothing and actually wear it.
  6. Post something on my blog every day (okay, weekday) for a year.
  7. Go to Boston with Aaron, just the two of us.
  8. Take a family vacation out West, car-trip style.
  9. Learn how to pair wine with food.
  10. Take ballroom dance classes. Preferably with Aaron.

So that’s a start. Do you have a life list? What’s on it?

3 Responses to “Inspired.”


  1. 1 Cyndi March 26, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I want to learn to cook. I mean REALLY learn to cook. Gourmet style. And yes, I want to learn to pair the wine with the food. And someday I’m going to take a vacation to Europe and spend all of my time crawling around old castles and cemeteries, talking to old dead kings and queens.

  2. 2 bethany March 26, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    i like the idea of pairing wine with food. i’ll give you a few highlights that i haven’t done yet:

    write a book, become fluent in french, play the cello, become a (scuba) dive master, climb a glacier, bungee jump, hang glide, base jump, surf, zip line, hold romanian orphans, and backpack the smokey mountain portion of the AT.

    i have a bunch more and i’m trying to think of new things all the time. try looking at John Goddard’s lifetime goal list for some inspiration. he made his list when he was a boy scout and has accomplished a great deal of them.


  1. 1 The Old Woman « Adipose Rex Trackback on April 18, 2011 at 8:12 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Tweet, tweet

  • I don't need feminism because theobrogians are adequate to teach me all the progressive theology I need, like third ways and stuff #ohwaitno 5 hours ago
  • @awhooker @zhoag Take a peek at Acts 8:2. The church's response to Stephen's stoning was to feel grief, not blessing, even tho he saw Christ 6 hours ago
  • RT @awhooker: Queer people are not your teaching moments, Church. 6 hours ago

My photostream

The Brent Spence Bridge

Happiness is...

IMG_0402

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

