Literary Ink

Somehow found myself looking at (and envying) this web site of literary tattoos this afternoon, which got me thinking: If I weren’t (a.) thoroughly indecisive and unable to commit to a decision as permanent as a tattoo, and (b.) terrified of pain, what sort of literary tattoos would I consider getting?

Here, in no particular order, are my choices:

  1. a muted post-horn (The Crying of Lot 49);
  2. “To the library, and step on it!” (Infinite Jest);
  3. “She had always suffered from a vague restlessness, a longing for adventure that she told herself severely was the result of reading too many novels when she was a small child.” (The Blue Sword)
  4. This thoroughly lovely Narnia quote

Or, if I were getting a lower-back tattoo, perhaps one of these:

  1. “The enemy’s gate is down” (Ender’s Game)
  2. “Oh, I am so embarrassed…” (The Monster at the End of This Book)
  3. “Let the Wild Rumpus start!” (Where the Wild Things Are)

In all seriousness, if I were to ever get a literary tattoo, it would probably be the line, “And then, something went BUMP!” from The Cat in the Hat – this line in the book happens when the Cat first arrives, just at the intersection between boring mundanity and fantastic absurdity – rather a lot like my life, I think.

1 Response to “Literary Ink”


  1. 1 Mama Booth February 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Something about the word Rumpus over your rumpus is too funny.


Leave a Reply

Archives

My photostream

The Brent Spence Bridge

Happiness is...

IMG_0402

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

